StreetArtNews

Nafir "Emptiness Of You - Edition 2"

Sale price Price $590.00 Regular price Unit price  per 

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Edition 2
Size: 50.5 x 73 cm
Painted On Part Of A Handmade Persian Carpet From Kashan

Release Date: 
October 22, 2020, Thursday 
5PM UK Time (12PM NYC, 9AM LA, 2AM Melbourne, 12AM HK, 1AM Tokyo)

“Emptiness Of You” by Iranian artist Nafir features stencil portraits over traditional Persian carpets. The map of the carpet was  originally from Kashan City. Most Iranian Kashans follow a medallion-and-corner pattern. Kashan stands for the highest standards and traditional production of the finest craftsmanship, and are mostly knotted from very good wool.

Additionally, these carpets used were old and damaged. It was repurposed as canvas for the stencil paintings.